Angus Book Award 2013

Earlier this year I was thrilled to find out that Slated was shortlisted for the 2013 Angus Book Award. The full shortlist is this: 

  • Tim Bowler, Buried Thunder
  • William Osborne, Hitler's Angel
  • Chris Priestley, Mister Creecher
  • Teri Terry, Slated

 

Then finally it was time! On 4th June I caught the train for Angus on a beautiful sunny day. And this is what I found just out the door when I got to where we were staying at Carnoustie: 

Beachy bliss.

 

On 5th June all four authors did two school visits each, covering the eight schools involved in the awards. I visited Arbroath Academy and Monifieth High School - the staff and students were so welcoming, and ohmy: I've never been asked so many questions! My favourite part of school visits is always the Q&A, so this was awesome.

 

And then, that evening? The awards event was held at Arbroath High School, ably MC'd by students Kimberly Nicholson and Fraser Scott. Each school introduced a video they'd made about one of the shortlisted books: the standard was unbelievable. And each author spoke for a few minutes about their book, inspiration behind it, foxes (Tim), or owls (me).

 

And then....the golden envelope. <gulp>

 

Slated won! I was so astonished I did that stuttering thing for a speech, that went something like 'thank you and I can't think of anything to say but thank you...' (it might have rambled on along those lines for a while).

 

I got one of these:

And it really WAS an accident when I nearly took out Chris Priestley's eye with the trophy when I sat down. I mean, look at the thing! Positively lethal, right?

 

Here's the authors & MCs:

back row, from left: William Osborne, Chris Priestley, Tim Bowler; front, Fraser Scott, Teri Terry, Kimberly Nicholson
back row, from left: William Osborne, Chris Priestley, Tim Bowler; front, Fraser Scott, Teri Terry, Kimberly Nicholson

And me looking startled, but happy:

As part of the Angus Book Awards there were some competitions for the students taking part: Mirren Wallace of Forfar Academy won the book cover competition with her chilling version of Mr. Creecher, and the winning book blurb was by Shaun Powell of Arbroath Academy.

 

I was SO busy after the awards that I was really disappointed to not get a chance to look at all the alternative book covers entered into the competition: but hurrah! Organizers of the Angus Book Award have emailed me the Slated entries. Stay tuned as I'll put a blog post up with them soon.

 

After the event it was back to Carnoustie, chilling out with chips and sauce (yes, really!)

Chris Priestley, me and Tim Bowler
Chris Priestley, me and Tim Bowler
Chris Priestley, me, and Angus Book Awards organizer extraordinaire, Moyra Hood
Chris Priestley, me, and Angus Book Awards organizer extraordinaire, Moyra Hood

Then the next day: first another walk on the beach, then a train journey home in gorgeous sunshine. With views like this of Dundee out my train window along the way:

Thank you so much to Moyra and everyone involved in organizing the Angus Book Awards so briliantly. But most of all, thanks to all the readers there for their enthusiasm - and patience, whilst waiting for signed books while I texted my husband and half the known universe.

 

This was definitely a few days I'll never forget, for all the right reasons.